Stitch and Bitch Amman

Displacement Activity

Another post from Claire:

I’m supposed to be working but my mind is full of projects for the loom. Oh yes, I have The Loom, but it’s going to need a bit of restoration before I can use it. And I’m supposed to be working.

The first thing you do on a loom is put on the warp (the yarn that goes lengthways) which is called dressing the loom. So we need yarn. Well we’ve done that bit.

Yarn – this represents hours and hours of displacement activity. Spinning is very therapeutic.

The skeins have to be unwound and measured out to the right length for the warps. In the old days you’d capture a child and make it sit with its arms out holding the skein so you could unwind it. Given the shortage of stray children round here I needed a skein unwinder, so I made one. It helps that I have power tools.

Bits

The Stand

Stand with the arms on and pegs in place

And here we have the skein winder with skein ready to be unwound.

This entry was written by Vanessa and published on October 18, 2012 at 5:26 pm. It’s filed under Cleverly Crafty, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Displacement Activity

  1. Ivy Nasir on said:

    Nice looking wool, but I just can’t get it up for weaving Esp. if I have to dress the loom myself. Confessions of a lazy woman who would not be an artist if she had to grind her own pigments.

    Date: Thu, 18 Oct 2012 15:26:52 +0000 To: grannyivis@hotmail.com

  2. winkie on said:

    ‘grind your own pigments’ ,.. love the phrase.. sounds like an exhortation .. ‘mind your own business’ (or ‘cut your own sweater strips’?) .

Leave a Reply

